Staff and Board

Let us be the first of many friendly faces to welcome you to our hometown. We’d love to help you start planning your visit and “find your Independence!”

Tourism Staff

  • Eric Urfer, Director, Parks | Recreation | Tourism
  • Kristi Franz, Tourism Manager 
  • Mataya Thomas, Sales and Services Manager
  • Gary Sheridan, Tourism Sales and Services Assistant
  • Ana Delgado, Administrative Assistant II
  • Zach McNulty, Multimedia Communications Coordinator

National Frontier Trails Museum

  • The National Frontier Trails Museum is currently closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tourism Commission

The residents of Independence already know how wonderful the city is, but these hometown fans are dedicated to sharing with everyone that Independence is a great vacation destination.

  • Sam Rushay, Chairman
  • Kris Zerr, Vice Chairman
  • John Thornton, Secretary
  • Jennifer Vitela
  • Nancy Kerr
  • Jodi Krantz
  • Michele Shanahan-DeMoss
  • Glen Esplin
  • Steven Kohn